Classic Inspiration

I looooove making jewelry. Sometimes I get inspiration from a new outfit or something that I like. There are other times that I find inspiration from classic actresses like Audrey Hepburn, Ingrid Bergman, Grace Kelly and Joan Crawford. I don’t like to copy exactly what they wore, I just make my own version adjusted to my taste and style. Here are some examples. Enjoy! (Keep in mind these are inspired pieces, not replicas)

image

Audrey Hepburn's necklace

Audrey Hepburn’s necklace, gorgeous as it is, is a little too much for me so i altered it to my liking.

image

Audrey Hepburn inspired necklace

image

brooch made from old rosette earrings

The rosettes were stud earrings that I’ve had since I was a kid. I glued them onto a pin and attached some chains….et voila!

image

Ingrid's earrings

For those of you who follow my blog (gosh, I feel so important saying that lol), you have seen this picture here before. I simply adore the earrings Ingrid Bergman is wearing here.

image

Ingrid inspired earrings

Long “blingy” earrings of my own! I made these from an old tired bracelet; I cut it up, glued earring posts….et voila!

image

Grace Kelly's bracelet

I think I’ve established how much I love Grace Kelly and her sense of style lol. Here she is in a scene from one of my favorite movies, Rear Window, with my one of my favorite Hollywood heartthrobs, Jimmy Stewart. In this scene, you keep hearing clunking and jingling from Grace’s bracelet. To me, nothing reeks more of femininity than to have jingly jewelry on…yea I’m weird lol. So I created my own jingly gracelet.

image

I don’t care for gold, so I used silver discs for the “jingling effect” and used coiled memory wire for the multi bracelet look…et voila!

image

Joan Crawford's necklace

Then there’s Joan Crawford’s twisted multi strand necklace here. I haven’t made the earrings yet! The necklace took a lot of planning though. I’m not known for my patience and getting five strands to twist is not my forte. It all started out with a rose button (sewing button) to serve as my focal piece and match the pinkish pearls I already had. I’ll take you through it step by step…heck if I had to go through it so do you lol.

image

(Yes they were $2.75!)
I removed the loop and sanded the surface to make it receptive to gluing.

image

Next, I glued a spacer bar onto the back of the button.

image

Then I added the wire strands and began stringing them.

image

I couldn’t get those willful strands to stay twisted so my mom came up with the brilliant idea of just braiding them. So I braided them and they stayed put!

image

….et voila! I wore this necklace the other day and even men complimented me on it! (now you know if a man noticed it…need I say more? lol)

Anyway, I just thought I’d share with you where some of my jewelry making inspiration comes from. I hope you enjoyed it! Thanks for reading! 😉

2 thoughts on “Classic Inspiration

  1. Beautiful jewelry! You know you’ve got talent when you can transform simple 3 dollar buttons into a gorgeous piece to wear at any fancy function. No need for Zales or Ross Simons here! LOL
    Get into sewing…you’ll be UNSTOPPABLE.

Leave a Reply

